Q&A with Chef Helmut Lamberger

_DSC0400-01

Meet Executive Chef Helmut Lamberger, a certified National Global Master Chef by the World Association of Chefs Societies entitling him to be amongst the handful of chefs in Malaysia to claim title to Master Chef.

With over 30 years of international culinary experience under his chef s hat, he is now helming the kitchens at Renaissance Kuala Lumpur Hotel.

If you’d like to have a look on how the buffet looks like, click here! Or come back later once you’re done reading this post.


What was your inspiration behind this year’s Christmas buffet?

Because, Christmas. I’m from Austria and its one of the biggest celebration for us besides Easter and also Christmas is probably the most exclusive meal we’ll have every year. Every country will have their own signature dish and right here in TEMPTationS we’ve combined dishes from different European countries classic Christmas dish for all to enjoy. It’s definitely better than last year and I’ve too prepared a dish, it isn’t exactly a traditional Austrian lamb dish and I’ve adapted some local flavors here in Malaysia by adding some mango coulis which gives a perfect combination.

Do you have an all time favorite Malaysian dish you truly enjoy?

Wow, there’s just plenty I can’t name one. I mean, what I love about Malaysia is the varieties here and also there’s always something new to try. You know what, I love mee mamak, bak kut teh, char siu, cucur udang or sayur and that’s pretty much what I love about Malaysian cuisine. The food here has been keeping me to not wanting leave for over 7 years.

What are the dishes will your guests enjoy the most in the buffet?

I think it’ll definitely be the Classic Whole Roast Turkey because I believe when my guests are here for a Christmas meal, they’ll always go for the turkey and of course, the bigger the better. It’s probably the main attraction in the buffet but I hope the guests look forward on the varietal of dishes we’ve prepared as well.

How will you celebrate Christmas with your culinary team?

We’ll host a small gathering a few days before Christmas as you know, on the actual day we would all be really busy but I’ll leave it to them to decide how they want to celebrate this special day as I’m not really particular with it as long we are able to get almost everyone together then I’m happy with it because they’re important to me and without their support, it wouldn’t happen and in return you need to give them what they deserve.

What is the key to keep a strong team?

Motivation. You need to keep them motivated at all times and also to give them an opportunity to learn and try something new all the time but most importantly, to show appreciation especially when everyone did an excellent job and smooth operation. Whether its the dishwasher or assistant, you need to show them you really appreciate and respect them.

 

There you have it for a few minutes with Chef Helmut!
Don’t forget to click on the link above to browse through what they’ll be serving.

Love,

raz signature

One thought on “Q&A with Chef Helmut Lamberger

Leave a comment